On Tuesday, California Governor Jerry Brown signed into law a measure that allows cannabis retailers to sell recreational cannabis to anyone 18 and older, a significant shift from the state’s longstanding ban on recreational cannabis.
The bill also expands the state-licensed medical cannabis dispensaries, which will now be able to sell up to four grams of cannabis per day to anyone 21 or older.
California, the most populous state in the country, has one of the strictest cannabis laws in the nation, with the state currently facing an estimated $4.3 billion in budget cuts over the next 10 years.
This year, the state is set to face a $3 billion budget shortfall.
Under the bill, licensed cannabis businesses will be able sell recreational marijuana to anyone between 18 and 21.
A small number of adult recreational cannabis retailers will be allowed to sell medical cannabis and medicinal cannabis.
A person under 18 may not possess more than four grams (250 milliliters) of recreational cannabis or six grams (two ounces) of medical cannabis.
Under the bill passed Tuesday, individuals 21 and older may possess up to five grams (1 ounce) of marijuana, and up to eight ounces of medical marijuana.
The measure also allows adults to possess up of three grams (25 millilitres) of dried cannabis flowers and up of two grams (5.4 ounces) or more of dried marihuana.
The law also allows those under 21 to possess small amounts of marijuana oil, which is used for medicinal purposes.
The legislation comes on the heels of the state legislature legalizing the use of medical marihum and medical cannabis, which took effect on November 1.