Which national recreation areas will be closed?

National recreation areas (NRAs) are state-level recreation areas established to manage and promote recreational opportunities and opportunities for people of all ages.

These include state parks, hiking trails, hiking towns, campgrounds, recreational centers, and the National Recreation Lands.

NRAs are generally smaller than recreational areas, and are usually located in the rural areas of the country, but there are some that have been established in some metropolitan areas. 

The following states will not be participating in the national recreation initiative: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. 

For more information on the national recreational initiative visit http://www.nps.gov/nps/national-recreation-program/recreation/topics/state-restoration-state-resorts.aspx. 

Follow the local recreation blog for the latest on the national recreational effort. 

National Park Service National Recreation Institute 2016-2016 NRAs topics State parks Hiking trails Hike and campground Camps Hikers and Campers Tent campgrounds Camping and RV Resort sites National Recreation Lands State Park and National Rec Inst top stories top